Acro Image

Aerobatics Server

[International Aerobatic Club] [Communications] [Aerobatics Images]

Disclaimer: These aerobatics pages are developed by individual IAC members and do not represent official IAC policy or opinion.

[Usage Statistics]

There are some good ideas here. Who is next?

bd

Pete & Farrell Rouse wrote:

To All, I am an aerobatic pilot who is no threat to any of the competitors in any category; however, I feel that I might have some suggestions that would be of benefit.  I am going out on a limb because of the recent spate of in-fighting within the ranks of the IAC.  I do not know all of the issues with Mr. Dorsey's tenure as the IAC president, nor do I feel that it is relevant now due to his departure.  Any parting shots taken at this point are really non-productive.  I say let us give Gerry Molidor our support and move the IAC in a positive direction that is a benefit to all aerobatic pilots. Here are a few suggestions that might help with some of the issues as I see them. 1.  The small percentage of competitors versus the overall membership. I suggest that the IAC sponsor weekend clinics for aerobatics much in the way the EAA sponsors the Sportair workshops.  I feel that a relaxed and fun atmosphere of a weekend clinic would probably entice some more of the membership into competition.  I see this as an educational as well as flight proficiency clinic.  The people involved in the course could bring their own airplanes, or rent a flight school provided airplane.  The clinic would cover the maneuvers, scoring/judging, flying tips, aircraft performance, etc.  Basically a fun introduction to competitive aerobatics. 2.  Competition aerobatics is relatively unknown to the 'outside world'. I suggest that whenever there is an aerobatic competition, the organizers try an involve the local media to get the word out to the general public.  The media involvement would need to be carefully crafted in order to put aerobatics in a positive light, not a bun